Soundcheck: New music from BRAIDS, JFM, AroarA and more

On Tuesdays, the Mixtape brings you a blog post full of the latest singles, albums, videos and news from Canadian musicians. It’s an aggregation of what we think you should know about.

There’s a new album from Toronto experimental electronic artist JFM . Broken Social Scene member Andrew Whiteman and Ariel Engle tease their new album out the end of August with the single “14”. BRAIDS release an artsy video from their new album also out the end of August and the long awaited album from The Heavy Blinkers is available to stream. Prairie hip hop artist Factor dropped a new release today as well.

Album: JFM – Dementias

Electronic artist JFM has released a free EP before heading out on tour in Ontario, Quebec and New Brunswick this summer and fall. The six track EP was recorded straight from the floor to cassette earlier this month. No mastering and no mixing give this eccentric mix a very raw, unpredictable and organic sound. Also, it is recommended you not stare at the album cover immediately before going to sleep.

Video: BRAIDS – In Kind 

Experimental indie pop-rock group BRAIDS release highly anticipated new album Flourish // Perish on August 20th via Flemish Eye. The album is the first full-length since the release of the 2011 Polaris shortlisted album Native Speaker. The band released a new video on Pitchfork last week showing nearly eight minutes of cool shots of nature in a super artsy way and band member Raphaelle Standell-Preston.

Single: AroarA – #14

Andrew Whiteman of Broken Social Scene and Apostle of Hustle fame along with Ariel Engle are AroarA. The band has been kicking around for a few years but the duo will finally release their first full-length album In the Pines on August 27. The album features 14 songs based on the 14 poems in the book In The Pines by American poet Alice Notley, taking the words and transforming them into music. The first single “#14” is now available to stream below.

Album – The Heavy Blinkers – Health is currently streaming Halifax band The Heavy Blinkers new album Health. The album has been in the works since 2006 although the lineup has changed with Jason Michael MacIsaac being the last the last remaining founding member. Health features vocals from Stewart Legere, Melanie Stone and Jenn Grant along with guest vocals from Sondre Lerche and Sean O’Hagan. You’ll have to take a time out to absorb the arrangements, choirs and orchestral pop of this 16 track album.

Album – Factor – Woke Up Alone

Keeping hip hop alive on the prairies Factor’s latest album, Woke Up Alone, which dropped today,  is a epic tale of life and death – literally. Collaborating with a number of artists, such as Nomad and Myka 9, to create an album that follows the story of a man who tries to the deal with the death of his wife by bringing her back from the dead. Factor, who has been producing hip hop and spinning beats since 1998, takes his art to a whole new level by playing on the ideals of creating a concept album. You can check out some sounds here.

BRAIDS photo by Victoria Masters