Soundcheck: New music from the Mouthbreathers, PS I Love You, Austra and more

New EP from The Mouthbreathers

The Mouthbreathers dropped Corrupt the Youth yesterday. The new four song EP is available on bandcamp as a  pay-what-you-want sort of deal. The songs from the Sackville, N.B. indie rock band were written by Lucy Niles and recorded by James Anderson at the Vogue Theater in Sackville.

PS I Love You share song from new album

Kingston indie rock duo PS I Love You have a new album coming out via Paper Bag Records in July. The band hasn’t shared an exact release date or title for the album, but they have shared the first single “For Those Who Stay”.

Austra properly release song Habitat

Austra will release a new EP on June 17. The Habitat EP features the track “Habitat” along with three instrumental tracks. The track has been around for a few years now but didn’t fit in on previous albums Feel It Break or last year’s Olympia. The band have a busy summer ahead playing festivals including stops in Toronto for Field Trip and Ottawa for Bluesfest.

July Talk drop summery new video

If you’ve ever seen July Talk perform live, you’ll know the show is driven by the chemistry between frontpersons Leah Fay and Peter Dreimanis. The group’s new video for “Summer Dress” captures that chemistry on film in the band’s usual black and white photo style. Along with the new video, the band announced new international label deals with Polydor UK, Universal Music (Germany, Switzerland and Austraia) and Island Records (U.S.). Read more about July Talk in our 2013 Summer Festival guide.

Stream Chromeo’s new album White Women

Montreal dance friendly duo Chromeo’s new album White Women comes out May 12 and features guest appearances from Ezra Koenig (Vampire Weekend), Toro Y Moi, Solange, Pat Mahoney (LCD Soundsystem) and more. You can stream the new album on iTunes now.

Viet Cong re-issue tour cassette

If you missed out on the tour only cassette from Calgary band Viet Cong, fear not. The band, featuring former Women members Matt Flegel and Matt Wallace, will release the EP in digital and vinyl form through label Mexican Summer.

Photo of PS I Love You: Supplied/Vanessa Heinse

About Jonathan Briggins 71 Articles
Editor-in-chief of Mixtape magazine.